try { } catch (err) { };


May Board Meeting Recap

Posted: June 19, 2014

The Board of Trustees took a number of actions during its May meeting, including approving academic programs, the library project and general and capital budgets.

On the recommendation of the Academic Affairs Committee, the board approved the following new academic programs:
• RN-to-MSN
• Health sciences
• Global studies

In addition, Trustees also voted to adjust the College’s requirements so that the number of credits students must take for a bachelor’s degree is at least 120 credit hours, bringing Wilson into alignment with federal regulations.

With regard to the John Stewart Memorial Library, the board voted to move the project forward. Vice President for Operations and Finance Brian Ecker is hopeful that new construction will begin in August and estimates completion—if all goes well—by the start of the 2015-16 academic year.

The board also approved the fiscal 2015 budget and capital budget. The budget is based on a target enrollment of 820 students and includes provisions for continued growth in our master’s degree programs. The budget provides funding for two new faculty positions and new coaching positions. The budget also provides for a one-time wage enhancement stipend, the details of which have yet to be determined.

The fiscal 2015 capital budget will continue to address critical life safety and code compliance campus facility needs. Additional projects in the budget include upgrades to locker room facilities in the Frank E. Gannett Memorial Field House, installation of a boiler in Warfield Hall, and required curb repair and sidewalk replacement along Philadelphia Avenue.

On the recommendation of the Audit Committee, Trustees approved the fiscal 2013 audited financial statements.

The election of board members and officers also took place at the May meeting. Several current Trustees were re-elected for a new term:

  • Susanna N. Duke
  • Jill A. Roberts
  • Phoebe H. Stevenson
  • Judith R. Stewart
  • Dorothy M. Van Brakle (alumna trustee)
  • Nancy D. Washington

Five new Trustees were elected:

  • Robert M. Baker
  • Robin J. Bernstein
  • Daniel Drawbaugh
  • Mary Jo Maydew
  • Barbara L. Tenney

New board officers elected for 2014-15 were:

  • Barbara L. Tenney—chair
  • Susanna N. Duke—vice chair
  • Judith R. Stewart—secretary
  • James A. Smeltzer—treasurer

Last Updated: June 19, 2014