try { } catch (err) { };


Wilson Softball Making Fifth Consecutive Conference Tournament Appearance

Posted: April 29, 2013

– On Sunday, April 28 the Wilson College softball team swept conference rival Penn State Harrisburg, 3-2 and 10-9. In the second game of the doubleheader, the Phoenix took the Lady Lions into extra innings. In the bottom of the eighth inning, with Harrisburg up by one run, Wilson was able to score two to win the game 10-9. With that extra innings victory, the Phoenix clinched the number two seed in the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) South division for the NEAC conference championship hosted by Penn State Berks. Wilson finishes the regular season with a 13-7 record in the NEAC South, 13-15 overall.

The Phoenix will travel to Reading, Pa. for the NEAC championship tournament May 3-5, making this their fifth consecutive conference tournament appearance. The conference championship is a six team double elimination tournament, with the champion receiving an automatic qualifier to the NCAA Division III softball tournament. The 2013 NEAC tournament seeding is as follows:

NEAC South NEAC North
1. Penn State Berks 1. Keuka College
2. Wilson College 2. SUNY IT
3. Penn State Abington 3. SUNY Cobleskill

In the first round of the tournament, Wilson will battle the Fighting Tigers of SUNY Cobleskill on Friday, May 3 at 4:00 p.m. The winner of that game will take on the number one seed in the North Division, Keuka College, on Saturday, May 4 at 10:00 a.m. The loser will be relegated to the second chance bracket, taking on the loser of game 1 of the tournament and playing Saturday at 2:00 p.m.

The complete Championship Bracket Information is as follows:

#1 South Seed

#2 North Seed

Game 3 – Sat. 8 AM

Winner of Game 3

Game 1 – Fri. 2 PM

Winner of Game 1

#3 South Seed

Game 8 – Sun. 10 AM

Winner Game 8

#2 South Seed

Game 2 – Fri. 4 PM

Winner of Game 2

#3 North Seed

Game 4 – Sat. 10 AM

Winner of Game 4

Game 10 – Sun. 2 PM

Winner Game 10

#1 North Seed

Loser Game 8

Loser of Game 1

Game 11 – Sun. 4 PM

Tournament Champion

Game 5 – Sat. 12 PM

Winner of Game 5

Game 9 – Sun. 12 PM

Winner Game 9

***if necessary

Loser of Game 4

Game 7 – Sat. 4 PM

Winner Game 7

Loser of Game 10

Loser of Game 2

Game 6 – Sat. 2 PM

Winner of Game 6

Loser of Game 3

Last Updated: April 29, 2013