try { } catch (err) { };


Wilson College Graduates 93 in 140th Commencement Ceremony

Posted: June 16, 2010

6/16/2010 At its 140th annual commencement ceremony held Sunday, May 23, Wilson College conferred degrees on 93 undergraduate and graduate students, and granted 64 certificates to those completing the teacher intern program.
DATE: June 16, 2010
CONTACT: Cathy Mentzer, Manager of Media Relations
717-264-4141, Ext. 3178

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. – At its 140th annual commencement ceremony held Sunday, May 23, Wilson College conferred degrees on 93 undergraduate and graduate students, and granted 64 certificates to those completing the teacher intern program.

Approximately 800 people attended the ceremony, which was held in Laird Hall. Wilson President Lorna Duphiney Edmundson presided over the ceremony. Speaker Temple Grandin, a nationally known author, lecturer and advocate for agricultural animals and people with autism, addressed the graduating class.

The college conferred honorary doctorates on Grandin and Pamela Hayes-Houldin, a philanthropist and founder of Global Works and Horsepower Farm.

Also during the ceremony, Wilson Class of 2010 President Christina Howard presented the college with a gift from her class – an $800 check for the Wilson Fund.

Six students graduated from Wilson’s Master of Education program: Jean Lobo, Amber Lanae Madigan, Jennifer Joelle Perestock, Polly Ann Pluta, Kevin G. Webber and Emily Ann Widder.

Students graduating from Wilson College with bachelor’s degrees were: Diane M. Abbott (magna cum laude), Gershon Bai-Lama Bangura, Megan Dawn Betts, Heather Marie Bopp, Elsa Natalia H. Camuamba (magna cum laude), Ariel Rose Carver (magna cum laude), Kayla N. Chagnon (cum laude), Suzanne Walker Cole, Mariza Lakmini Shehara Cooray (summer) and Nadine Taylor Deardorff.

Allison Marie Detrich, Nathalie Djiguimkoudre, James W. Fuller Sr., Lori Harris-Brocious (summer), Susan Hedges (magna cum laude), Elizabeth June Heyer, Karen Renee Hively, Krista Markstrom Lodter, Keshie Latrice Mansouri (summer) and Janice K. McClintock (magna cum laude).

Mary Ellen McGough, Zhanna Movsesyan, Michele N. Mullins, Amy Rena Stinger Myers, Sherrie Regina Neibert, Kimberly Sue Ripka (summa cum laude), Nicole Ann Sarsok, Susan Joy Rice Shaffer (cum laude), Debbie J. Shatzley (magna cum laude) and Ryan D. Stouffer (summer).

Jacquelyn A. Valencia, Samantha Rae Vance (magna cum laude), Sarah Ruth Weikert Wilson, Gerald Dwayne Williams (summer), Wanda Jean Works (summa cum laude), Lisa Marie Augsburger, Courtney Nicole Baker (summer), Jenna Lee Beatty, Amy Lynn Carlaw and Melissa Michelle Ellerman (cum laude).

Jennifer Ellis (summer), Sarah R. Emmel, LaToya Serenity Ann Franklin, Amelia Evelyn Frast (magna cum laude), Nikola Grafnetterova (magna cum laude), Sarah Jo Griffin (summer), Casara Irene Gross, Julia Marilie Hampton (summer), Monika Hoerner (summer) and Tiffany Marie Holmberg.

Christina Louise Howard, Krystle Rachelle Jackson, Meredith Katherine Johnson (magna cum laude), Rachel Louise Kelly (summer), Nicole Lynne Malott-Shelton, Nicole Jeanne Manning, Mary Heather McCoy, Lindsay Taylor McGowan (summer), Erin Rachael Myers (summer) and Lindsay Powell.

Brenna Nicole Pyne (summer), Katelin S. Reever (cum laude), Amanda Gail Ridge (magna cum laude), Risa A. Saar, Michelle Elizabeth Sheely (summer), Amanda Kay Smith, Michelle R. Sprow, Bemnete Eyob Tadesse (magna cum laude), Travis Richard Tosten (cum laude)and Britteny Lynn Valtin (summer).

Mary Beth Wert (summer), Ashleigh Ryan Wesner, Kayla Ann Whitfield (magna cum laude), Capulet Dawn Williams, Alexandria T. Wilson (cum laude), Karen Sue Wurster, Bobbi Jo Yeneshosky (summer) and Amanda Leanne Zemba (cum laude).

Students graduating with associate degrees were: Thomas A. Garner Jr. (summer), Mary Beth Knepper (distinction), Doreen M. Lupo, Jan Michael Nawa (summer). Maria O. Pierremont, Kristin J. Shetler, Charlotte Jones Vink (distinction), Donna R. Johnston (summer) and Michelle K. Remmel (distinction).

Teacher intern certificates were granted to the following students:

Elementary – Sheryl Marie Baade, Allan R. Bare, Vincent L. Beaston, Chad D. Blose, Melissa S. Brandt, Charles V. Browning Jr., Wendy Nicole Callahan, David Coffey, Susan M. Dudenhoeffer and Brian Keith Fleming, Jill Gouse, Heidi V. Hawbaker, Karlee R. Kaercher, Michael U. Knill II, Cheryl Grove Kreiser, Lynn Llewellyn Livingston, Mary Malinda Mansfield, Susan B. Maze, Katie B. McCarty and Jayme Lynn Moyer.

Meghan Mushovic-Girroir, Casey L. Oakes, Jill Elizabeth Raudensky, Melissa Reath, Cynthia Robinette, Sarah J. Schaeffer, Donna Scheitrum, Amanda Schetrompf, William M. Schultz and Ann R. Shields.

Teresa Stephens, Natalie J. Stonge, Cara E. Sullivan, Jocelyn Toothman, Nicole E. Vasquezi, Joanne M. Weldon and Chad A. White.

Secondary – Vicki D. Angell, David M. Armitage, Rebecca Lyn Chamberlin, Ryan Cleary, Paul Daniels, Katrina J. Dietrich, Valerie Felice, Lisa Freas, Michael Carl Fuhrman and Travis Wayne Gaidos.

Rachel A. Hollis, Penny Huntsman, Misti D. Keebaugh, Benjamin C. Klunk, Kevin M. Lawrence, Dale Louise Mervine, Giselle Mullen-Lujan, Margaret Olson, Michael J. Orndorff and Jennifer Andreus Sampsell.

Amanda L. Savarese, Erika Lynn Schiffgens, Nicole M. Shank, Tiffany Springsted, Christopher John Storm, Patrick David Thompson and Richard L. Wagner.


Founded in 1869, Wilson College is a liberal arts college dedicated to the education of women. Affiliated with the Presbyterian Church and located in Chambersburg, Pa. Wilson offers bachelor’s degrees in 30 areas and a master’s degree in education. The college’s 2009-10 enrollment in both the College for Women and the Adult Degree Programs is 838 and includes students from 20 states and 18 foreign countries. Wilson is committed to environmental sustainability and to preparing leaders who will serve their communities and professions effectively.

Last Updated: June 30, 2011