On November 11, 2020, in a ceremony streamed live, Wilson College chartered a circle for Omicron Delta Kappa (O∆K), the National Leadership Honor Society. A total of 37 students, alums, faculty, and staff were initiated into the organization. 

President Wesley R. Fugate, Dean Mary Beth Williams, and Professor Joshua Legg were O∆K members from previous institutions. Their affiliations helped open the door for Wilson College to join this prestigious leadership fraternity. Senior Sarah Schaffner will serve as the first president of the circle, supported by Nathaniel Pimentel as vice president and Linda Boeckman as treasurer/circle administrator. Williams will serve as the advisor, and Legg will be the faculty advisor.

Sally K. Albrecht, chair of O∆K’s Board of Trustees, announced, “Omicron Delta Kappa proudly welcomes Wilson College as our newest campus circle. Student, faculty, alumni, and staff leaders may now be recognized for exhibiting O∆K’s positive vision and ideals within their campus and community. In addition, student members will be eligible to participate in the Society’s national opportunities, including scholarships, internships, campus grants, and leadership development programs.”

Fugate said, “I understand the value that an O∆K circle can bring to a college as it provides wonderful opportunities to recognize campus and community leadership. Bringing on O∆K will recognize and foster collaborative leadership and further promote the ideals of scholarship, service, integrity, character, and fellowship as we boldly move into our next 150 years.”

The new chapter will begin regular meetings when the spring semester commences. Activities will include helping with student research day, service learning, development within Phoenix Leaders, and social events. The annual initiation ceremony will be connected to the Fall Homecoming/Family weekend.

O∆K, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, on December 3, 1914. A group of 15 students and faculty members established the Society to recognize and encourage leadership at the collegiate level. The founders established the O∆K Idea—the concept that individuals representing all phases of collegiate life should collaborate with faculty and others to support the campus and community. O∆K’s mission is to honor and develop leaders; encourage collaboration among students, faculty, staff, and alumni; and promote O∆K’s ideals of scholarship, service, integrity, character, and fellowship on college and university campuses throughout North America.

New members initiated:
Tiffany-Jade M. Smallwood, Senior
Hannah A. Middaugh, Senior
Juliann Winkler, Junior
Jarrett Todd Rickerds, Alum
Adrianna S. Broome, Junior
Lauren Nicole Monahan, Senior
Sarah Mei Schaffner, Senior
Bethany Comp, Senior
 Jennifer A. Cail, Alum
Sydni Elayne Berkihiser, Senior
Kayleigh Nicole Layfield , Sophomore
Johnson Ogunbisi, Junior
Rose Kylie Love Runyan, Sophomore
Delaney J. Glazer, Junior
Danielle Rivers Harwood, Senior
Theresa M. Hoover, Faculty/Staff  
Jenna Nicole Carty, Senior
James D’Annibale, Faculty/Staff 
Mikaela L. Small, Junior
Colby Maun, Senior
Geneva L. Dardick, Sophomore
Natalie Anne Cowdrick, Junior
Megan Sherie Potter, Senior
Brandt Allen Mellott, Junior
Linda A. Boeckman, Faculty/Staff 
Nathaniel Pimentel, Sophomore
Katie D. Shank, Graduate Student  
Kelsy Rupp, Graduate Student  
Maria Ross Campsey, Graduate Student    
Danielle Aileen Stafford, Senior
Bridgit R. Lujan, Graduate Student  
Kayla Nicole Enck, Senior
Matthew Aaron Wilson, Sophomore  
Oliver Perry, Senior
Anaida Fahradyan, Sophomore    
Tia Renae Jones, Junior
Cole Taylor, Junior
Stori A. Boggs, Junior

Published: November 12, 2020